Since its emergence in 1976 as the Federal Capital Territory of Nigeria, the city of Abuja has witnessed different past FCT ministers overseeing the affairs of the capital city.

According to the Nigerian constitution, an FCT minister is to be appointed by the Federal Government to oversee the activities and administration of the region under the aegis of the Federal Capital Territory Administration (FCTA).

Here’s a complete list of the former Ministers of FCT from 1976 till date.

Past FCT Ministers (1976 – Date)

Mobolaji Ajose-Adeogun1976 – 1979
John Jatau Kadiya1979 – 1982NPN
Iro Abubakar Dan Musa1982 – 1983NPN
Haliru Dantoro1983 – 1983
Mamman Jiya Vatsa1984 – 1985
Hamza Abdullahi1986 – 1989
Gado Nasko1989 – 1993
Jeremiah Timbut Useni1993 – 1998
Mamman Kontagora1998 – 1999
Ibrahim Bunu1999 – 2001PDP
Mohammed Abba Gana8 February 2001 – 17 July 2003PDP
Nasir Ahmad el-Rufai17 July 2003 – 27 July 2007PDP
Aliyu Modibbo Umar27 July 2007 – 29 October 2008PDP
Muhammadu Adamu Aliero17 December 2008 – 8 April 2010PDP
Bala Mohammed8 April 2010 – 29 May 2015PDP
Muhammed Musa Bello2015 – 2023APC
Nyesom Wike Ezenwo2023 – DatePDAPC

Current FCT Minister In 2023

The current FCT Minister is Nyesom Wike Ezenwo (CON). Wike was appointed by President Bola Tinubu on August 16, 2023, to administer and steer the ship of the Federal Capital Territory. He works alongside Mariya Mahmoud Bunkure who is the current Minister of State for FCT. Before this position, Nyesom Wike was the previous Governor of Rivers State.

READ ALSO:  Abuja Phase 1: All You Need To Know

Wike took over from Muhammed Musa Bello who was appointed by President Buhari in 2015 and stayed in office till 2023.

Banner: We must remember African Women! Experience the untold and hidden histories of African Women through our curated library. CLICK TO LEARN MORE.
Gain access to the works of authors, filmmakers, journalists, and publishers documenting the history of African women: Click HERE.

ezenwo nyesom wike adressing the public
Nyesom Wike Ezenwo, Current FCT Minister (2023 – Date)

FUN FACT: Of all previous FCT ministers listed above, only Lieutenant General Muhammad Gado Nasko (former military governor of Sokoto State) administered in Lagos and Abuja. This was because he served during the year (1991) when the seat of government was permanently relocated from Lagos to Abuja.

FAQs About Past FCT Ministers

Here are some commonly asked questions about the previous FCT ministers.

Who is the past Minister of FCT?

The former minister of FCT was Bala Mohammed who administered from 8 April 2010 to 29 May 2015. Overall, there have been 16 past ministers of the Federal Capital Territory.

Who is the First Minister of FCT?

The first Minister of FCT Abuja is Mobolaji Ajose-Adeogun who administered the region from 1976 to 1979.

Final Words

Wrapping up, the Federal Capital Territory has witnessed the administration of over 16 FCT Ministers since its formation in 1976.

And the current FCT Minister is Nyesom Wike Ezenwo, who was appointed in 2023.

Let me know if you have any questions by dropping a comment in the comment section below.

Loved this post? You'll love our community more. Feel free to join our WhatsApp community today and be prepared to discover all of Abuja's best-kept secrets!

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *